The Walls We Build by Jules Hayes

The Walls We Build_Ebook

Three friends … 

 

Growing up together around Winston Churchill’s estate in Westerham, Kent, Frank, Florence and Hilda are inseparable. But as WW2 casts its menacing shadow, friendships between the three grow complex, and Frank – now employed as Churchill’s bricklayer – makes choices that will haunt him beyond the grave, impacting his grandson’s life too.

Two Secrets …

Shortly after Frank’s death in 2002 Florence writes to Richard, Frank’s grandson, hinting at the darkness hidden within his family. On investigation, disturbing secrets come to light, including a pivotal encounter between Frank and Churchill during the war and the existence of a mysterious relative in a psychiatric hospital.

One Hidden Life … 

How much more does Florence dare reveal about Frank – and herself – and is Richard ready to hear?

Set against the stunning backdrop of Chartwell, Churchill’s country home, comes a tragic story of misguided honour, thwarted love and redemption, reverberating through three generations and nine decades.

For readers of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore, Katherine Webb, Lucinda Riley and Juliet West.

“Passion, intrigue and family secrets drive this complex wartime relationship drama. A page turner. I loved it.”  #1 bestselling author, Nicola May

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This book caught my attention right from the beginning and had me hooked. Then again, I was already predisposed to enjoying it as one of the settings is Chartwell, the country home of Winston Churchill, and somewhere that I have visited more than once
It took me a while to work out what was going on, with who and when, even with hints at the top of the chapters. I think my brain wasn’t quite following things as it would normally
Once I caught up, I was desperate to keep reading, to understand what had gone on in Frank, Florence and Anna’s lives as something drastic seemed to have done having found out quite early on that Anna was committed to a psychiatric hospital. I also found out a lot about the Churchill family that I didn’t realise and could see how the families influence shaped Franks life
Frank and Florence are the main narrators, having met as children and both worked at Chartwell. Hearing Frank and Florence’s points of view, what they went through and how it shaped there lives gripped me and pulled me through so many emotions, from anger to frustration to heartache ending at tears 
A lot of family secrets were uncovered by Franks grandson Richard when he started to look at his family’s past having first become aware of Anna on his grandmother Hilda’s death, his father and uncle where unaware of her either and to see how everything unfolded as well as the risks of burying secrets, hiding them away became clear to me as a reader 
I would recommend this book to those who enjoy a romance story with huge twists and turns that will pull you through every emotion 
AM 🐾 x

Purchase Links

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0855YZ3GG/
US – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0855YZ3GG/

Waterstones – https://www.waterstones.com/book/the-walls-we-build/jules-hayes/9781916338005

 

Author Bio.

The Walls We Build Author Photo 

Jules Hayes lives in Berkshire with her husband, daughter and a dog. She has a degree in modern history and holds a particular interest in events and characters from the early 20th century. As a former physiotherapist and trainer – old habits die hard – when not writing Jules likes to run. She also loves to watch films, read good novels and is a voracious consumer of non-fiction too, particularly biographies.

Jules is currently working on her second historical novel, another dual timeline story.

Jules also writes contemporary thriller and speculative fiction as JA Corrigan.

Jules Hayes  can be found at:

Website: https://www.jules-hayes.com/

Twitter @JulesHayes6  – http://www.twitter.com/JulesHayes6

Facebook Author Page: JulesHayesAuthor – http://www.facebook.com/JulesHayesAuthor

Instagram: JulesHayes6 – http://www.instagram.com/juleshayes6

Writing as JA Corrigan, Jules can be found at: Website: http://www.jacorrigan.com

Twitter: @juliannwriter – http://www.twitter.com/juliannwriter

Facebook Author Page: JA Corrigan – http://www.facebook.com/jacorrigan
Instagram: corriganjulieann  http://www.instagram.com/corriganjulieann

 

Giveaway to Win a Signed copy of The Walls We Build (Open INT)

The Walls We Build_Ebook

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/33c69494361/?

*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

The Walls We Build Full Tour Banner

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Drama, Historical, History, love, romance

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s