The Corfe Castle Murders by Rachel McLean

FZF1 cover 0.1

Meet DCI Lesley Clarke. She’s a straight-talking city copper who doesn’t suffer fools gladly… and she’s been transferred to rural Dorset.
After being injured in a bomb attack, Lesley is presented with a choice – early retirement, or a period of respite in a calmer location.
But things don’t stay calm for long.
Before she’s even started her new job, Lesley is dragged into investigating a murder at one of England’s most iconic landmarks, the imposing Corfe Castle.
Lesley must hit the ground running. Can she get along with her new partner DS Dennis Frampton, a traditionalist who doesn’t appreciate her style? How will she navigate the politics of a smaller force where she’s a bigger, and less welcome, fish? And most importantly, can she solve the murder before the killer strikes again?
The Corfe Castle Murders is a compelling, character-driven mystery perfect for fans of Ruth Rendell, Colin Dexter, Faith Martin and Joy Ellis.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Kept me guessing 
Lesley is a police DCI who has been relocated from Birmingham to Dorset and the day before she is due to start her new job, she ends as the first office on the scene of a murder at an archeological dig near Corfe Castle
I like Lesley, she is no nonsense and is precise but she is also fair. She doesn’t like her team to jump to conclusions and she is very different to their previous DCI so she clashes with some of them but as the story progresses, they start to better understand her and come closer to liking and respect her and her methods. She is the kind of officer that I would want investigating if anything happened to me or someone I loved which made it really easy for me to bond with her as a character 
The first thing that caught my attention about this book and the reason that I wanted to read and review it was the title and the setting, as a child I would often holiday in Dorset and the Isle of Purbeck which includes Corfe Castle village. I think this really helped me to see all the locations as well as the drama unfolding in real life and the story was so well written that I kept forgetting that it was fiction. I was pulled into the story so quickly and there were so many twists and turns that I was constantly on my toes and unable to put the book down. I will admit that I was surprised at the identity of the murderer at the end, as one of the other characters seemed like a much more likely candidate, and I think this was another act of brilliance by the author to throw the reader off the scent. I’m also really looking forward to the next book in the series, there was a bit of a teaser in this one and now I’m really curious!! 
I would recommend this book to those who enjoy a crime novel set in an amazing location with some fabulous characters who will keep you guessing until the end
AM 🐾 x

Purchase Links

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0989Y2J2R

US – https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0989Y2J2R

Author Bio 

rachel mclean

My name’s Rachel McLean and I write thrillers that make you think.

What does that mean?

In short, I want my stories to make your pulse race and your brain tick.

Do you often get through a thriller at breakneck pace but are left with little sense of what the book was really about? Do you sometimes read literary fiction but just wish something would damn well happen?

My books aim to fill that gap.

If you’d like to know more about my books and receive extra bonus content, please join my book club. I’ll send you a weekly (sometimes fortnightly) email with news about my writing research and progress, stories and bonus content for each book. And I’ll let you know when my books are on offer.

 Social Media Links 

https://www.facebook.com/rachelmcleanwrites

https://twitter.com/rachelmcwrites

https://www.instagram.com/rachelmcwrites/

The Corfe Castle Murders Full Tour Banner

Leave a comment

Filed under books, Crime, Drama, family, friendship, mystery, Suspense

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s