Cinderella in the Spotlight by Sophie Pembroke

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

A story of discovery 

Rowan’s identical twin Willow has shown up on her doorstep on the Cornish coast pregnant and in need of a favour. She needs Rowan to go to New York and pretend to be her whilst she figures things out. Things get a bit more complicated when Rowan starts to fall for Eli, the brother of Willows ex boyfriend

I loved this book, especially Rowan. She is so conflicted, pretending to be Willow introduces a lot of stress to her life, Willow is still a successful model whereas Rowan quit that life and instead became a dress designer and this book looks a lot about the conflicts in Rowan. Who she was and who she is becoming whilst in New York, she is having to channel her inner Willow so their scheme doesn’t get found out and it also makes Rowan look at the life she has created, is she really happy or is it just an escape from her past are questions that get raised and seeing Rowan develop from the beginning to the end showed the person she was able to become. Eli was a harder character to get to know initially, he has a lot of emotional baggage and experiences a lot of internal conflict between the Willow he thought he know from the news cycle and the one he meets in New York, one good thing for Rowan and Willow is that Eli has never actually met Willow but he does get the sense that she is hiding something and his reactions to this as well as those of Rowan made them feel more realistic to me

I read this book over the course of two nights and will admit that it did keep me up later than it should have done as I got more involved in Eli and Rowans story. I think something that really appealed to me was that they were both involved in charitable causes, but not just as figureheads, Eli has his own charity and Rowans dressmaking is often done for those who want to feel beautiful even when they might not feel it and or confirm to the societal views of how they should look and this really struck a chord with me. I often struggle to find clothes that make me feel pretty so that’s probably why I bonded with Rowan as a character. One thing I have to add is that I’m really looking forward to reading Willows story when it come out, I need to know what happens and if she gets her HEA 

I would recommend this book to those who enjoy a romance full of emotion and personal journeys which will capture your heart and imagination

AM 🐾 x

Leave a comment

Filed under books, Drama, family, friendship, love, Mills and Boon, romance, True Love

Leave a comment